Interviews! New Strategy is Working or?

Well, well, well, guess what I have interviews this coming week. I also have Jury Duty the week after. Of course.

One of the interviews is in an area I desperately want to be in, you know what it is, Education. It’s an admissions associate for a private college. The pay is fine, the benefits are great, and it’s the foot in the door I need. I actually applied for this job several times over the past two years so this is not an interview obtained by my new strategy of downplaying my education.

The other interview I got is also from an old application, but I am not qualified. It was to teach MS Office at a local college as an adjunct. However, she did kindly tell me how to become qualified. I remember in the past asking about the MS Office certification courses and most people told me I did not need them since I have a Bachelors and a Masters but, well, that isn’t true. So, now I will be studying, regardless of what happens with my interview on Tuesday so that I can get certified in MS Office as an expert. This shouldn’t be difficult, only expensive. But, I do think it’s worth it.

It kind of goes back to what I said the other day about being specific and targeted in your degree. If you really want to do something, you need to have the right degree and the right certifications. So, I’m going to follow that advice I gave myself. I’m going to get specific. I’m still going to apply for administrative positions in the meantime without talking about my degree or my business much in order to see if that works. But, my ultimate goal is still to work in academia.

I know that I will be awesome working at a college or university and that this is where my passion lies. I know that deep down that’s where I’ll be most happy and most productive. I love talking to people about their education plans, and I love school myself. I can’t wait to further my own education earning that Doctorate that I so desperately want. But, I am putting all further education that doesn’t offer immediate gratification in terms of certs on hold until I’ve been working in the right position for a few years.

I’m also going to stop apologizing for being middle age. I’ve been practicing my interviewing technique and lately I admit I’ve been doing a bad job. I have been so bogged down and disappointed about not getting certain jobs that I have let it really get to me in a personal way. To the point I say asinine things during an interview and practically talk the person out of hiring me. That’s not the image I want to portray and honestly it’s not who I am.

 

About themommygap

Mom, Wife, Business owner, trying to break into a career out of the home.
This entry was posted in Another day, Interviews. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

