Still no J.O.B. and I think it really is ridiculous

I was recently offered a job for 8 dollars an hour. Now let me say I make well over 8 dollars an hour working from home. It was also a part time job that required me to go in every day five days a week. With the way gas prices are, I can tell you that is not happening.

I normally make from $30 to $65 an hour. I don’t work full time, so don’t get excited, but if I wanted to work more I could. This month I have pretty much worked full time, but it can get kind of hectic because when you have your own business you also have to do things that aren’t billable hours to maintain. Also, as a stay at home mom who happens to work from home I have other issues to take care of too, like housework, laundry and dinner.

The flexibility is great, but my youngest daughter is graduating in May and I wanted something different to add to my life. I just happened to want to get a job that offered health insurance, that involved teaching, or helping people, something that felt good, and to do something new. I like what I am doing, if I could get health insurance I’d like it a whole lot more, and probably would not even consider getting a job at this point. After the last couple of weeks I am not even sure I will apply for local jobs anymore. It feels like people want your talents, but they want you free.

I am so frustrated with people who want to hire a college graduate, seem to love my resume, and then give me some lame excuse about not wanting to hire me due to:

  • Not enough experience
  • You own your own business

These are bogus reasons to not offer me the job. Now, listen, I’m not the type of person to hype myself up. I do pretty well during interviews and I can tell when I don’t. I can tell when I do too. I know when they like me, and then I can tell when I have bombed for some reason.

I get it, personalities clash, everyone is not going to like me. But I can tell you this, my having a business does not limit my ability to work for someone else. Having a business does not mean I lack experience. A third point is most of the jobs I apply for have sub-par pay to start with, but offer something else I like, but I assume they’ll pay more than 8 dollars an hour when they have a long list of requirements, including a degree.

That something else might be that it involves one or all of the following:

  • Teaching People
  • Helping People
  • Marketing
  • Writing
  • Editing

But, having said that, I am NOT going to work for 8 dollars an hour. I MIGHT consider  a salary of $35,000 or so if there is insurance involved, and maybe I might go a tiny bit lower at a college or university that has many opportunities that transcend money. Unfortunately, I’m not independently wealthy, so I have to earn money no matter whether I am doing what I love, or not. I’m at the point in my life that I’m either going to do what I love, enjoy and get paid a living wage at, or I’m simply not going to do it.

If no one hires me that’s fine, I can keep doing what I’m doing, which I will do anyway, but let me tell you, they’re missing out. I am smart, and I care about my  jobs as if I own the place. I would do my all for any place I agreed to work.  I simply ask for fair treatment and there, I think is the entire problem.

See, I worked for an architect in town a few years back and for reasons I won’t go into, I quit. I quit because I was not being treated nicely at all. In my opinion it was a very abusive situation and I had to leave. So that in a nutshell is probably what prevents me from getting jobs… they are afraid that if they treat me badly I will quit.  After all, I have my own business. Well gee, don’t interview me then. Don’t waste my time on an interview. Check references before you interview someone. Read the entire resume, check it out, then call for an interview.

I’m sure they can hire some good people, but I can promise that they won’t have as wide a range of talents as I have. I can also assure you that if they have a college degree and take an 8 dollar an hour job, they’re not going to be there long. You get what you pay for! If someone quit their job and you found out about it, ask the person. You might be shocked at why they quit. Maybe something bad happened to them.

Oh yea, if you want so much experience pay more.

About themommygap

Mom, Wife, Business owner, trying to break into a career out of the home.
This entry was posted in Jumping through hoops and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

