Didn’t update for a while but here it is

Okay didn’t get any of the jobs I wanted, not even my dream job. But boy did I have fun at the interview. They put us up in a hotel, I did a presentation. I felt good about everything but I didn’t get the job. That’s that.

In the meantime my Mother and Father in law have given us some land to build a house on so it all works out because moving would kind of suck, though I would have done it for my dream job. Now the plan is to rock my business like I have been doing and I am still going to apply for adjunct jobs locally, and “dream” jobs that come up locally. But, I’m really super focused on my business right now which is why I haven’t been focused on this blog. I fear that I waited too long to have the dream job at a college, but I already have a dream job here at home with my business Barry Publishing. Some may wonder, if it’s so dreamy why are you looking for a different job?

Great question! But I never planned to give up my business. I was going to do both. AND there is what the problem probably is. People can tell I love my business and they figure they can’t count on me. Now I can promise you that I would not quit a dream job if I got it, at least not for the next 10 years or more, my husband and I have a lot of catching up to do after he was laid off and works for 1/4 his former income. We’re not getting any younger. But the thing is, I am pretty sure if my husband had all my degrees he’d be getting a job paying higher than me and he in fact does have a job paying higher than the jobs I apply for… because he did not take work off for raising kids, he does not own a business. He’s a man, I honestly believe it’s different for them.

Until I prove myself wrong, I’m going to believe this.

So now the plan is to do the following:

Keep bitching about the mommy gap and trying to find ways around it for women and mothers everywhere.

 

About themommygap

Mom, Wife, Business owner, trying to break into a career out of the home.
This entry was posted in Jumping through hoops. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

