Rejection

Rejection is the name of the game when you’re applying for new jobs. You’re obviously going to get more rejections than you will offers but that doesn’t make it easier. To me rejections that did not involve an interview are worse because I know that if they did not even call me for a phone interview they probably already had their mind made up before they even placed the advertisement. That makes me upset because I know it’s the “good old boy and girl” network at work.

But, I can’t really blame people for hiring people they already know, like and trust. This is the basis for marketing and advertising so why not the basis for hiring a team? Hiring people you know, or someone you know knows is the way the world works. That is why connections are important. Unfortunately, if you’ve been a stay at home mom for any length of time, or worked from home, you usually don’t have many connections other than those in your own world.

A professor of mine told me to volunteer and get involved with my alumni group. The problem is, I have to keep working and I work a lot. When you have your own business, especially an online business that involves providing a service of some kind to others, the work really never ends. I have no problem having plenty of work to keep me super busy. It’s just that I really want to work at a college. It’s a passion of mine, but so is making money. Not tons of money, but enough to keep a roof over our heads, eat well, and get to go out to a movie on occasion… but this requires me to network here, via my computer, so that I can keep getting work. Just as I have time to network with a college will be the time I am already working at a college!

So, I need to figure out how I can start networking better with colleges while still putting food on my table. Yay me.

About themommygap

Mom, Wife, Business owner, trying to break into a career out of the home.
This entry was posted in Another day. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

