Please report for a typing test

I finally got a “bite” on a job!  I got a card in the mail to show up next Wednesday to take a typing test. (and no it can’t be rescheduled) Lucky for me this is one of the local positions I applied for. What is strange to me about taking a typing test is that most of my life I’ve either worked as an administrative assistant, secretary, business manager , office manager or writer, to me it just goes to show that I can type.

I told my husband about this test and he laughed so hard I thought he would choke on his dinner. His laughing made me laugh. But deep inside it got me worried. The job requires a college degree and 65 words per minute accurate typing. So, I got online and found a typing test I could take free. I typed only 75 words a minute. This was a shock since back in gosh the 80’s before computers I typed 65 to 70 WPM on a typewriter. In the 90’s I typed 80 and even a few test showed 90 WPM (I went to a junior college and had to take keyboarding).

I know why I am slower now. I mostly write for a living now, so I look at the screen and when I make a mistake I back space rather automatically, and the test counts that as a mistake. In order to type with no mistakes I can only type about 65 to 70 WPM when looking at the item I am typing. I do SOOO wish I’d have my new glasses prior to the test but I’m only going to the doctor on Monday so I’m out of luck there. I have to wear freaking bifocals now and apparently in the last year my eyes have gotten much worse since I have to do acrobatics to be able to see a line of text. (especially directions on medication, or boxes of food)

But, I am positive the test isn’t going to make or break me since I have to only type 65 WPM to “pass” this little test. I do wonder what someone would do if they applied for the job and were not local. There are no provisions on the card to test if you are out of state. I hope that doesn’t prove to be an issue with the other jobs I’ve applied to. Maybe I can use this test result for other jobs?I find it amazing that relatively average to low paying jobs require so many hoops to be jumped through. I have a lot to offer, more than my typing skill, but hey if the are going to judge me mostly on that, fine with me. I’m pretty sure I am above average in that department, since raising four daughters may have caused “gaps” in my employment it did not keep me from typing.

 

About themommygap

Mom, Wife, Business owner, trying to break into a career out of the home.
This entry was posted in Jumping through hoops. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

