I want to move to Iola, Kansas

Today I’ve been looking at homes in the vicinity of one of the jobs I am applying to at Allen Community College in Iola, Kansas. You might wonder why a southern girl who enjoys walks on the beach would move to such a place. But, I graduated High School in Manhattan Kansas. I still have a lot of connection to the place, and fond memories. Yes, even of the bitter cold and wind!

I remember after the first snow finding the nearest field or empty church parking lot and doing cookies in my VW Bug which never seemed to get stuck in the snow no matter how badly I drove.  I remember the cozy nights in front of a fire out in a field someplace, yea with a keg. 🙂 Ah yes, fond memories.

But, I also long for the big family rooms, and cozy inside fires on a cold snowy night. Also, man the prices are good right now too on houses. Where we live in Huntsville the jobs pay lousy and the housing prices are ridiculous. I know that David and I’d be happy pretty much anyplace as long as we are together, but I know that living here we’ll never buy a nice house or any house. It’s just too expensive. We really love older homes, that are roomy, have hard word floors, and those come at a price here. Looking on Trulia I see many homes, fixer upers, and even some that don’t need any fixing that are less that 60K!!!!! That is amazing!

I want to move there now.

Alas, I have to wait until someone hires me, but today I’m going to believe that it will happen.

 

About themommygap

Mom, Wife, Business owner, trying to break into a career out of the home.
This entry was posted in The Heartland. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

